Vladimir Putin’s Conscious Uncoupling

screenshot-2138

In 2014, the actress and lifestyle blogger Gwyneth Paltrow announced her divorce from the musician Chris Martin with a post headlined “Conscious Uncoupling.”

“When I was announcing my husband and I were separating and we were trying to follow this specific way of doing it, and the philosophy is conscious uncoupling, and we like broke the fucking internet,” she said at the Fast Company Innovation Festival, later adding, “I honestly think Chris and I have contributed something positive to the culture of divorce.”

But it had been one whole year earlier when the Russian president– so popular at home he had been the subject of a recent art exhibition entitled Putin: The Most Kind-Hearted Man in the World— and his wife Lyudmila emerged from a performance of the ballet La Esmeralda. A journalist from Rossiya 24 asked them, “You so rarely appear together, and there are rumours that you do not live together. Is that so?”

“It’s true,” replied Vladimir Vladimirovich Putin, “All of my activity, my work, is public, absolutely public. Some like it. Others do not. Some are absolutely incompatible with it.”

“That was really our joint decision,” added Lyudmila Aleksandrovna, “Our marriage is over because practically we don’t see each other. Vladimir Vladimorivich is absolutely concentrated on his work, our children are grown up… And I don’t like publicity and flying is difficult, and practically we don’t see each other.”

“And we will remain always very close to each other,” Putin said, referring to their children, “And to Lyudmila Aleksandrovna,”

screenshot-2135

“We have very good relations and I am very grateful to Vladimir Vladimrovich for his continued support,” said Lyudmila Aleksandrovna, a statement later echoed by Paltrow with her assertion that, “To this day, Chris would take a bullet for me.”

“I am afraid to say this word, ‘divorce,'” said the correspondent from Rossiya 24.

“Yes,” Lyudmila answered, “This is a civilized divorce.”

screenshot-2139

