As a mother…

Mary“As a mother,” is a popular way to begin statements, frame arguments, or assert the elevated emotional and moral plains that a mother inhabits. It’s as common as a freshly minted celebrity parent marveling, “It’s not all about me anymore.”

“I am delighted to be supporting the wonderful work of Save the Children through the Fashion Saves Lives Sale. As a mother, I passionately believe that all children, wherever they live, have the right to a happy, healthy life.”
Victoria Beckham

“I’m not here as an expert. I’m here as a mother, an American mother, that honestly believes I have the right to know what’s in the food I feed my family. My kids are normal American children and they eat everything everybody else eats.”
Gwyneth Paltrow campaigns on Capitol Hill against a bill that would prevent states from passing individual genetically modified food-labelling law

“As a mother, it is horrifying to hear the harrowing stories of the children I meet today”
Samantha Cameron visits a refugee camp in Syria with Save the Children

“I feel a responsibility as a mother, a public figure, a human being, to do what I can to make sure that not only my child, but all children, don’t have to grow up in a world where they are judged by the color of their skin, or their gender, or their sexual orientation.”
Kim Kardashian 

“I never used to get too wound up or worried about things. But now the smallest little things, you well up a little more, you get affected by the sort of things that happen around the world or whatever a lot more, I think, as a father.”
Prince William

