The Art of 43

Image

“I was inspired partially by Winston Churchill. He wrote a great essay called Painting as a Pastime. I wanted to make sure that the last chapters of my life were full, and painting it turns out can help occupy not only space, but can open my mind.”

Image

“I like it because it conveys a passionate person, and a strong person,” Bush said of his painting of Tony Blair.

Image

“George said, ‘I told Putin that in this country we own our own homes and because we own them we take great pride in them,'”a Bush frenemy recounted to Kitty Kelley. “Then he told me, ‘I don’t think the son of a bitch knew what the hell I was talking about.'”

Image

“I did encourage him after he got Penultimate on his iPad and started drawing very interesting stick figure characters to communicate with you and Barbara and with me when I was on the road,” Laura Bush told her daughter, a correspondent on NBC’s Today. “He’s very disciplined, and so he comes up and works every single day, which is why he’s improved and can do portraits of Bob the cat that are so good.”

