Perfume Ambassadors

Screenshot (239)Actors and spokespeople will say all sorts of things to sell perfume. What they say can be reflective of the culture; its gender roles and aspirations, as well as the near-deity status conferred upon famous actors. It is also illustrative of our tendency to assign human traits to consumer products. Perhaps thousands of years in the future, perfume bottles will be displayed in cases at museums alongside holograms of their long-forgotten celebrity brand ambassadors.

“In my personal opinion I think Gwyneth [Paltrow] is a great ambassador for Jour, because Gwyneth represents so many different types of women, she’s a great worker, actor, writer, chef, mother, daughter, wife. She has it all, in the sense that she’s willing to give, and she lives her day to the fullest. She is optimistic.” Hugo Boss Jour spokeswoman

“The bottle design is based on the seven chakras, there are seven kind of amber crystals, that are supposed to reflect the seven chakras, and so it’s got this spiritual element to it, which is all part of the concept and I think it’s a really lovely one, the bottle’s beautiful.” Sienna Miller, Hugo Boss Orange

“Boss Orange is a brand I immediately identified with because it has a laid back, spontaneous quality I relate to.” Orlando Bloom, Hugo Boss Orange

“Boss is a brand that not only represents classic style and sophistication, but inspires men to work hard, embrace opportunities and strive for success in all aspect of their lives. I’m honored Boss invited me to be the face of its new men’s fragrance.” Ryan Reynolds, Hugo Boss

“The Gucci woman can be the equestrian woman, the woman in the suit, the woman in the flowy bohemian dress, or the couture woman. I feel like this fragrance embodies all of them. That’s pretty cool, because it isn’t about being couture in an elite sense, it’s about a woman in her finest, most realized form, feeling her best. And that can be at any time—even just going to the grocery store.” Blake Lively, Gucci Premiere

“This is for the woman who wants to feel unique, beautiful and sensual. She owns the room when she enters. She’s not just noticed, she attracts the attention of everybody and is sexy but not vulgar.” Luigi Feola, P&G Prestige vice president for The One Desire, Dolce & Gabbana

“Amanda [Seyfried] has an intriguing appearance. She’s very pale, but slim and energetic, so I kept that in mind. And since she’s American, I wanted to translate that clean, sexy, approach that is so highly appreciated by Americans. It’s a perfume that is delicate, vivacious, highly feminine and sensual.” Françoise Donche, Givenchy, Very Irrésistible L’eau en rose

“I love what Trésor represents because, to me, it’s an homage to all women and femininity,” Penélope Cruz,Lancôme, Trésor Lumineuse 

“In our most private moments together, I don’t feel like Catherine Deneuve. Just deeply myself. It’s incredible to me that I can be that close to someone. Sometimes, it can make me feel awkward. Being so… so lost in feelings. He reminds me, with Chanel  N°5 base powder and spray cologne. You don’t have to ask for it, he knows what you want. Chanel.” Catherine Deneuve, Chanel  N°5

“It’s not a journey. Every journey ends, but we go on. The world turns and we turn with it. Plans disappear. Dreams take over. But wherever I go, there are you. My luck, my fate, my fortune. Chanel  N°5. Inevitable.” Brad Pitt, Chanel  N°5

