Who Said It: Tony Blair or Ashley Cole?

ImageDid the following quotes come from footballer Ashley Cole’s My Defence or the ex-Prime Minister Tony Blair’s My Journey?

A. “To me, by then, the only meaning was in being true to myself. I might be in a minority of one, but it would be a one I believed in.”

B. “They couldn’t understand why I was doing what I was doing; and I couldn’t understand why they couldn’t see it was the way of the future.”

C. “I was so pissed off. Then I started wondering whether what was being aired was the collective thinking of staff.”

D. “… Exploiting their divisions, underscoring their weaknesses, using a devastating mixture of critique, ridicule, and bombast. It was fun, effective, and professionally delivered.”

E. “We’d analyze, discuss, and try to put things right, but we’d end up having the same meetings again and again.”

F. “There began a period of intense reflection, analysis, introspection, retrospection, and general panic about what to do.”

G. “Whatever industry someone is in, it’s only right that they get paid fairly, in line with the rest of the workforce. It’s about fairness not greed, and I’m not a greedy person.”

H. “It’s about temperament, character, and attitude. It’s also about being authentic.”

I. “This would end his career. Knowing all that, someone gives the story to the Guardian. What is the mentality of such a person. Determined, vengeful, verging on wicked.”

J. “I’m sure the paper’s ‘showbiz’ department laughed like naughty little children when they published this particular crap. But they’d ultimately end up laughing the other side of their face when my legal team had finished with them. Because they went one step too far and I weren’t going to let them get away with it.”

ImageK. “Looking back, maybe I was naive to think we could bandage up an old wound and play on like nothing had happened.”

L. “I have many faults, but one virtue I have is that I don’t mind big people around me.”

M. “I learned how to disarm an opponent as well as blast them. They get angry; you get mild.”

N. “We had a little chat and there was a funny moment when we spoke about our different positions. I looked around at his team and said to him, ‘You know what, I’d love to be over there with you!’–my eyes were still fixed on a future in Europe.”

O. “When I think of what we did in those first halcyon days, it was indeed quite remarkable.”

P. “He brought his other hand above my head and started pointing down at me, as if to say ‘He’s the man… he’s the man’, and that was the picture that made the next day’s papers.”

Q. “As I often did in those days, I had split the holiday between France and Italy.”

R. “Mandela– or Madiba, as he is also called (his clan name)– is a fascinating study, not because he’s a saint but because he isn’t. Or rather he is, but not in the sense that he can’t be fly as hell when the occasion demands. I bet Gandhi was the same.”

S. “If Thierry was the smartest, Freddie was the most stylish, the most outlandish. He was the man that gave me the courage to wear ripped jeans.”

T. “But me? I didn’t have one dinner, one meeting, or one phone call from anyone… That’s not sour grapes, it’s just a sad truth.”

U. “Flags of St. George were everywhere I looked. What a sight that was. England here, there, and everywhere.”

From Tony Blair’s My Journey: A, B, D, F, H, I, L, M, O, Q, R.

From Ashley Cole’s My Defence: C, E, G, J, K, N, P, S, T, U.

Tony Blair photo by Marc Müller, Ashley Cole photo by Warrenfish

