The Quotable Ol’ Dirty Bastard

Image

“I take it to the next level… I rap, but I sing man, you know what I’m saying? And I don’t know how to sing.” To MTV

“Please calm down, the music, and everything. I went out and bought me an outfit today that costed a lot of money today. You know what I mean? Because I figured that Wu Tang was going to win. I don’t know how y’all see it, but when it comes to the children, Wu Tang is for the children, we teach the children. You know what I mean? Puffy is good, but Wu Tang is the best! OK I want ya’ll to know that, this is ODB and I love you all. Peace!” Storming the stage at the 1998 Grammy Awards

“See but the (undecipherable) for me is nothing but riding a rodeo, and proud all around saying bravo. Sports arena, the Greeks, the Russians, they all came to party, the Japanese, Pearl Harbor, all of them, they all came to party. There’s nothing wrong with a party, Boston Tea Party.” To John Norris of MTV News, 1996

John Norris: “A lot of people, this tour kind of took them by surprise. So, what made you decide to come out on the road this summer?”
ODB: “Money.”

“Ladies don’t love shit. Ladies just act like they love. You understand what I’m saying? It’s an act when it comes to Ol’ Dirty Bastard. They act like they love Ol’ Dirty – ladies don’t love Ol’ Dirty Bastard because … Ol’ Dirty Bastard is busy lovin’ them. They might like Ol’ Dirty Bastard, know what I’m saying? They might listen to his music or something, but really they don’t pay no mind. They pay nothing no mind, nothing is paid a mind to, really, on this earth. It’s just living, and dying. The world is a big ball of fire and it’s just burning with no feeling.” Dirty Minded (documentary, 2004)

Reporter: “What was the first thing you wanted to do when you got released [from prison]?”
ODB:
“The first thing I wanted to do? Give my mother a hug.” Press conference announcing his signing to Roc-a-fella Records, 2003

“I’m looking for a good girl man, and good girls look for me too. I’m gonna get me a nice go-go girl or some disco freak.” Ol’Dirty Bastard on Parole, VH1 Special, 2003

“It’s the government. The government brainwash our people with the mind control deal. That’s what they do. So they make sure people like it, they keep playing that same song. The same song keeps playing, you start to like it, you start to get programmed with it, you start to get cloned with it. So then for the clone to exist, then it just takes over, it takes over the human body, it takes over the spirit, it takes over the soul.” Interview with Method Man

“I’m still ODB, dirty, rotten, raw, to the maximum, ghetto…I just, gotta be professional about this shit now, you know what I’m saying? We’re growing up man.” Ol’ Dirty Bastard on Parole

“To me, everybody’s scared of the government, because they killed Tupac and they killed Biggie Smalls. I don’t care what y’all say, that’s my scene.” On MTV Live

“Now, you’ve got the Ol’ Dirty Bastard, something that you didn’t expect, but you wanted it, and you needed it, because it’s just something that you had to get.” On a Box Talk interview, 1995

